Press Release Details

View all news

The 20th Annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences Awarded for Protein Structure Predictions


Hoboken, N.J — The Wiley Foundation is pleased to announce that the 20th annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences will be awarded to David Baker, Demis Hassabis, and John Jumper for procedures to predict highly accurate three-dimensional structures of protein molecules from their amino-acid sequences.

David Baker is Head of the Institute for Protein Design and The Henrietta and Aubrey Davis Endowed Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Washington. Demis Hassabis is the Founder and CEO of DeepMind and is a Fellow at the Royal Society. John Jumper is a Senior Staff Research Scientist at DeepMind.

“The work by Baker, Jumper, and Hassabis has solved a long-standing question in biology: Can we predict how a protein folds simply based on its amino acid sequence? Their computational approaches provide highly accurate models of protein folds to all researchers in the biological and biomedical fields. This major advance has opened the door to a new frontier of structure-based inquiry into proteins from all domains of life," said Dr. Titia de Lange, Chairperson of the awards jury for the Wiley Prize at the Rockefeller University in New York City.

“The Wiley Foundation honors research that champions novel approaches and challenges existing paradigms in the biomedical sciences. The work of the 2022 Wiley Prize recipients David Baker, Demis Hassabis, and John Jumper truly upholds this mission,” said Deborah Wiley, Chair of the Wiley Foundation. The AI systems they developed, providing data which is freely available to all researchers, is an outstanding example of how Open Research is invaluable to further advancements in biomedical research.”

First awarded in 2002, The Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences is presented annually to recognize contributions that have opened new fields of research or have advanced concepts in a particular biomedical discipline. Among the many distinguished recipients of the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences, nine have gone on to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and two have gone on to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

This year’s award of $50,000 will be presented to the winners on April 1, 2022, at the Wiley Prize luncheon at The Rockefeller University. The winners will then deliver an honorary lecture as part of The Rockefeller University Lecture Series beginning at 3:45 pm EST that day. This event will be live-streamed via the Current Protocols’ Webinar Series and registration is free.

Additional Information

About Wiley
Wiley is a global leader in research and education, unlocking human potential by enabling discovery, powering education, and shaping workforces. For over 200 years, Wiley has fueled the world's knowledge ecosystem. Today, our high-impact content, platforms, and services help researchers, learners, institutions, and corporations achieve their goals in an ever-changing world. Visit us at, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn.  

Media Contact
Geena De Rose /

Multimedia Files:

View all news